Bloem Celtic, Chippa play out goalless stalemate

Bloemfontein Celtic and Chippa United played out a tame goalless stalemate in their Absa Premiership clash at Dr Molemela Stadium on Tuesday night.

The result allows both teams to remain in the top half of the log table, with the Chilli Boys in seventh on 35 points from 28 matches, while Phunya Sele Sele are one place lower with the same points tally but an inferior goal difference.

After a cagey opening period, Celtic began to get a grip on the game and began testing Chippa goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi through the likes of Victor Letsoalo, Kabelo Dlamini and Roggert Nyundu.

The latter had a shot from just outside the penalty area palmed away by the Nigerian gloves-man midway through the first half in the hosts’ most notable chance.

Chippa for their part, offered the occasional threat on the counter, though lone striker Katlego Mashego didn’t quite receive the service he needed to keep Celtic’s Patrick Tignyemb on his toes.

Overall, a lacklustre first half ended goalless with no major chances at either end. The second half continued in a similar style, with neither side really able to take control of the game and assert any pressure.

Chippa occasionally needed the likes of James Okwuosa and Zith Macheke to make a decisive tackle in a dangerous area, but in general the visitors’ defenders were able to handle whatever Phunya Sele Sele could throw at them.

Both teams looked to shuffle their attacking options with late substitutions, including the likes of Linda Mntambo, Edward Manqele and Menzi Masuku, though no player was able to spark any late goalmouth drama.

The clubs will return to league action on Saturday, April 28, with Celtic playing away to Baroka and Chippa hosting SuperSport United.

Bloemfontein Celtic 0

Chippa United 0

Celtic: Tignyemb, Rikhotoso, Gordinho, Ndengane, Motshegwa, Baloyi, Phalane, Hotto, Letsoalo (Mashikinya 90’), Dlamini (Masuku 81’), Nyundu (Mabaso 90’)

Chippa: Akpeyi, Macheke, Nsabiyumva, Okwuosa, Mako, Sali, Mabaso, Rakhale, Lentjies (Mntambo 76’), Mayambela (Manqele 88’), Mashego (Mbenyane 89’)