Chiefs edge Chippa in six-goal thriller

Kaizer Chiefs booked their spot in the 2019 Nedbank Cup final with a thrilling 4-2 win over Chippa United at Nelson Mandela Stadium in Port Elizabeth on Saturday evening.

The Amakhosi took a lead into the break, but fell behind with just under 20 minutes of regulation time remaining. Three goals in 11 minutes, though, swung the game back in Chiefs' favour as they duly advance to their first Nedbank Cup final in six years.

Chiefs will face National First Division side TS Galaxy in the final of this season's competition as they aim to break their four-year trophy drought. The Rockets beat Golden Arrows 3-1 in Clermont this afternoon.

Dumisani Zuma fired the Glamour Boys in front in the 37th minute. Mbongeni Mzimela completely fluffed man-of-the-match Khama Billiat's through ball into the area, allowing Zuma to prod home into an empty net to give Chiefs a well deserved lead at the break.

The visitors turned the game on it's head with two goals in seven minutes after the interval. Andile Mbenyane nodded home the leveller in the 64th minute before a well-taken goal from Lerato Manzini soon after.

Chiefs, though, hit straight back through Arohasina Andrianarimanana who finished with aplomb for his second goal in Chiefs colours.

Bernard Parker pulled Chiefs back in front in the 84th minute with a neat finish, dinking the ball over the onrushing Mzimela to send the Chiefs fans into delirium.

Billiat capped off the comeback with a stunning long range effort three minutes later. The Zimbabwe international's crisp strike confirming Chiefs place in the final at Moses Mabhida Stadium on May 18.

Chippa United (0) 2 (Mbenyane 64' Manzini 71')

Kaizer Chiefs (1) 4 (Zuma 37' Andrianarimanana 76' Parker 84' Billiat 87')


Chippa United: Mzimela; Macheke, Nsabiyumva (Makobela 46'), Shitolo, Tlolane, Malepe Lentjies, Rakhale, Malama (Gamildien 46'), Mbeyane, Manzini (Lentjies 87').

Kaizer Chiefs: Bvuma; Moleko, Hadebe (Ntiya-Ntiya 75'), Cardoso, Mphahlele, Katsane, Maluleka (Frosler 90'), Andrianarimanana, Mahlasela (Zuma 14'), Parker, Billiat.