AmaZulu fight back to hold Leopards

AmaZulu FC held Black Leopards to a 1-1 draw in an Absa Premiership match at the King Zwelithini Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

The draw saw Usuthu and Lidoda Duvha remain 11th and 14th respectively on the league standings with one game left.

Usuthu got off to a bright start and they nearly scored through Somila Ntsundwana following a good move.

Bonginkosi Ntuli set-up Ntsundwana and the latter placed his shot over the crossbar as the AmaZulu missed an opportunity.

Lidoda Duvha grew in confidence as the match progressed and they had a chance to take the lead just before the half-hour mark.

Khomotso Masia was sent through on goal, but AmaZulu goalkeeper Siyabonga Mbatha came out and denied the Leopards defender.

AmaZulu and Leopards launched attacks with the halftime break fast approaching.

Cavin Johnson, the AmaZulu head coach, decided to make an early change as Siyethemba Sithebe was replaced by Ovidy Karuru.

However, the two teams could not find the back of the net and the score was 0-0 at the interval.

Leopards coach Dylan Kerr introduced attack-minded player Joseph Mhlongo 13 minutes after the restart as the visitors looked to take the lead.

Kerr's counterpart Johnson responded by introducing veteran forward Siyabonga Nomvethe, who is set to retire at the end of the season.

The visitors were then awarded a penalty after Lefa Hlongwane was fouled in the box and Mwape Musonda scored from the spot-kick to make it 1-0 to Leopards in the 68th minute.

However, AmaZulu pushed forward in numbers and they managed to level matters with eight minutes left through Sibusiso Mabiliso's deflected shot to make it 1-1.

The late goal ensured that the encounter ended in a 1-1 stalemate with AmaZulu and Leopards sharing the spoils on the day.

AmaZulu (0) 1 (Mabiliso 82')

Leopards (0) 1 (Musonda 68')


AmaZulu: Mbatha, M.Gumede, Mabiliso, T.Gumede, Van Heerden, Morton, Ncube, Sithebe (Karuru 39'), Maduna (Nomvethe 65'), Ntsundwana (Hlalele 73'), Ntuli.

Black Leopards: Ndlovu, Zulu, Katjiukua, Masia, Ng’ambi (Nene74'), Mokoena, Bereng, Mudau, Musonda, Mahangwahaya (Mhlongo 58'), Khutlang (Hlongwane 64').