Sundowns win to put one hand on Absa Premiership title

Mamelodi Sundowns secured a 2-0 win over Golden Arrows in Absa Premiership match at the Loftus Versfeld Stadium on Tuesday.

The victory took the Brazilians to the top of the league standings with one game left, while Abafana Bes'thende remained 10th on the table.

The Brazilians dominated the match from the start and they managed to break the deadlock two minutes into the game.

Themba Zwane set-up Hlompho Kekana, who made no mistake as he beat Arrows goalkeeper Maximilian Mbaeva to make it 1-0 to Sundowns.

Abafana Bes'thende were struggling to contain the hosts and they conceded again in the sixth minute.

This time Gaston Sirino was the provider as he found Zwane, who found the back of the net to make it 2-0 to Sundowns.

The hosts continued their dominance as Sibusiso Vilakazi hit the woodwork in the 24th minute and Arrows cleared their lines after a scramble in their box.

Arrows fought back after the half-hour mark, but the Sundowns defence which was marshalled by Ricardo Nascimento stood firm.

Sundowns were deservedly leading 2-0 at the interval after dominating the first-half.

The defending league champions continued to dominate after the restart and Lebohang Maboe forced Mbaeva into a save in the 57th minute.

Tebogo Langerman, who was having a good game, played a dangerous cross into the box after the hour-mark, but Mbaeva was alert and he made a decent save.

With time running out, Arrows did threaten through Sanele Mathenjwa in the 76th minute, but the youngster was denied by Sundowns goalkeeper Denis Onyango

Siyabonga Dube was introduced by Arrows coach Steve Komphela in the closing stages of the game as the visitors looked to pull one back.

However, Sundowns stood firm at the back and ultimately, they emerged 2-0 winners over Arrows

Sundowns (2) 2 (Kekana 2', Zwane 6')

Arrows (0) 0

Sundowns: Onyango, Langerman, Nascimento, Morena , Arendse, Kekana, Coetzee, Vilakazi, Zwane (Ngcongca 82'), Maboe (Brockie 71'), Sirino (Mabunda 71').

Arrows: Mbaeva, Mzava, Bilankulu (Dube 84'), Lunga, Sibisi, Phiri, Venter, Mathenjwa, Matloga (Sabelo 78'), Motebejane (Lamola 46'), Mutizwa.