Amakhosi end season on a low

Kurt Lentjies © Gallo Images

Kaizer Chiefs ended a dreadful 2018/19 Absa Premiership season with a 1-0 loss against Chippa United in a league match at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Saturday.

The Amakhosi started positively and almost scored in the 12th minute when Khama Billiat worked himself into space on the edge of the box, but his powerful shot rifled against the post.

Chippa found their footing in the match after that and managed to take the lead just after the hour mark when Rhulani Manzini was played in behind the Chiefs defence and made no mistake with just the keeper to beat, 1-0.

Chiefs tried to find their way back into the game before the break, but were unable to do so and entered the tunnel at halftime trailing by the single goal.

It was more of the same at the start of the second half with Chiefs applying all the pressure.

Billiat was at the hear of their attack and came close to a goal on the hour mark, but his 18-yard shot was brilliantly saved by the Baroka keeper.

In the 66th minute Leonardo Castro should have levelled matters for the visitors when he met a pin-point cross into the box, but his free-header went inches over the crossbar.

Chippa nearly scored a second goal six minutes later when Kurt Lentjies got onto the end of a low cross into the box, but his snap shot sailed just over the target.

Chiefs threw players forward in the final ten minutes as they went in search of an equaliser, but were unable to find one as they lost their last game of the season.

The loss sees Chiefs finish the season in ninth place while the win for Chippa sees them end in 12th place.

Chippa (1) 1 Manzini 32’)

Chiefs (0) 0


Chippa: 42. Mzimela, 18. Makobela (Nsabiyumva 9’), 20. Shitolo, 4. Macheke, 23. Maphinga, 40. Twala, 28. Malama, 12. Malepe, 32. Lentjies, 19. R. Manzini (Gamildien 84’), 25. L.Manzini (Komane 53’).

Chiefs: 40. Akpeyi, 2. Mphahlele, 20. Hadebe (Zuma 60’), 3. Mathoho (Manyama 46’, 18. Moleko, 31. Katsande, 6. Adrianarimanana (Maluleka 46’), 39. Frosler, 25. Parker, 11. Billiat, 8. Castro.