Wits suffer a 1-0 loss to Baroka

Bidvest Wits rampant start to the 2019/20 Absa Premiership season was swiftly abolished as they suffered a 1-0 loss to Baroka FC at Bidvest Stadium in Braamfontein on Tuesday evening.

The Clever Boys headed into the fixture atop the league standings after game day one, but a stunning free-kick from Gerald Phiri Jr condemned the hosts to a first defeat of the season as Bakgaga duly dethrone their opponents at the summit.

Baroka have now conjured four points from their opening two fixtures, after fighting back from a two goal deficit to claim a point at home to Cape Town City this past weekend.

The visitors were the better team in the opening half and were rewarded for their efforts in the 42nd minute.

Thabang Monare's handball offered Phiri the ideal chance from the edge of the area and the Bakgaga midfielder made no mistake, curling an unstoppable free-kick past his former Ajax Cape Town teammate, Brandon Petersen, in the Wits goal.

Baroka almost doubled their lead in the 55th minute after Petersen spilt Mduduzi Mdantsane's rasping effort, but the shot-stopper recovered well to pounce on the loose ball and thwart consequent danger.

Wits' finally conjured a noteworthy chance in the 64th minute as a corner-kick fell kindly at Zitha Macheke's feet, but the defender produced a defensive finish - blasting the ball over the crossbar with the goal at his mercy.

Sameehg Doutie raced through on goal moments later after turning his defender inside-out, but man-of-the-match Elvis Chipezeze was quick off his line to make a crucial save.

The Clever Boys continued to turn the screw up until the final whistle, but were unable to find the equaliser as Chipezeze and his defence held firm to claim a vital away win for the Limpopo club.

Bidvest Wits (0) 0

Baroka FC (1) 1 (Phiri 42')

Bidvest Wits: Petersen; Machete, Mkhwanazi, Hlatshwayo, Ritchie, Monare (Domingo 46'), Alexander, Hotto, Doutie, Macuphu (Lark 70'), Dzvukamanja (Motupa 46').

Baroka FC: Chipezeze; Kgoetyane, Shozi, Sibiya, Ngubane, Patjie (Selemela 72'), Madondo, Mdantsane, Tisdell (Mosele 77'), Phiri (Ntswane 81'), Mbulu.