Rise and Shine victorious through Anas goal

Mohammed Anas © Gallo Images

Polokwane City overcame AmaZulu FC 1-0 in an Absa Premiership match at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

The victory took Rise and Shine to the top of the league standings, while Usuthu remained 16th on the table.

Rise and Shine applied some pressure on the Usuthu defence in the opening stages of the encounter.

AmaZulu goalkeeper Siyabonga Mbatha was called into action by Polokwane striker Mohammed Anas two minutes into the game.

The shot-stopper was alert and he pulled off a brilliant save at the near post to deny the Ghanaian marksman.

The visitors grew in confidence as the match progressed and Lehlohonolo Majoro was a busy man upfront.

The experienced forward forced Polokwane keeper George Chigova into a good save with a dangerous cross in the 18th minute.

The last chance of the first half fell for Majoro when he was set up by his Usuthu teammate Ovidy Karuru with a header.

However, the former Orlando Pirates striker volleyed the ball over the crossbar and the score was 0-0 at halftime between Polokwane and AmaZulu.

The visitors pressed Rise and Shine after the restart, and they finally got their first shot on target through Majoro seven minutes into the second half

The one-time Bafana Bafana player's volley was well-saved by Zimbabwe international Chigova in the Polokwane goal-posts.

Polokwane did not sit back as they pushed forward in numbers and they were awarded a free-kick in a promising area just after the hour-mark.

Their free-kick specialist Jabulani Maluleke then stepped up and placed his effort from the set-piece just over the crossbar.

It was end-to-end stuff in the closing stages of the match as the two teams searched for a late winning goal.

Anas proved to be the hero for the hosts as he pounced in the box before heading past Mbatha to hand Polokwane a 1-0 win over AmaZulu in stoppage-time.

Polokwane (0) 1 (Anas 90'+3)

AmaZulu 0

Polokwane: Chigova, Mvelase, Hlongwane, Mbonani, Motloung, Manaka, Nene (Chauke 88'), Booi (Mngomezulu 58'), Hlubi (W.Maluleke 80'), J.Maluleke, Anas.

AmaZulu: Mbatha, Sikhakhane, Mabilso, Xoki, Gumede, Vilakazi, Sithebe, Ncobeni, Karuru (Chawapiwa 84'), De Jong (Darpoh 90'+2), Majoro (Ntuli 72').