Arrows strike late to froce draw against CT City

Cape Town City's slow start to the 2019/20 Absa Premiership season continued as they were held to a 1-1 draw by Golden Arrows at Cape Town Stadium on Sunday.

Kermit Erasmus and Knox Mutizwa scored for either club in the Mother City with the latter earning his team a point with a penalty three minutes from time. The result moves Abafana Bes’thende up to fifth while the Citizens slip down to 11th on the log standings.

Arrows started the better of the two teams in a what was a stop-start encounter from start to finish, with plenty of niggle.

The hosts, though, improved as the game went on and Riyaad Norodien forced Edmore Sibanda into a top save in the 29th minute. The City winger's powerful free-kick forcing the shot-stopper into a rather unorthodox save, but nevertheless effective.

Sibanda had to be at his very best in the 38th minute to deny the returning Taariq Fielies who's volley looked destined for the back of the net, only for the shot-stopper to pull off a superb reflex save.

Erasmus nodded the Citizens ahead in the 52nd minute. The forward outmuscled his marker before heading home at they near post for his fourth goal of the league season.

Arrows should've levelled matters in the 68th minute after Divine Lunga left Thamsanqa Mkhize crawling on the floor. Ntsako Makhubela, though, could only succeed in booting the left-back's cut-back over the crossbar with the goal at his mercy.

The visitors finally got their goal in the 87th minute of the clash. Ebrahim Seedat guilty of chopping down Danny Venter inside the area, leaving Victor Gomes with no choice but to point to the spot. Mutizwa duly stepped up and slotted the ball home to earn the KZN club a point.

Cape Town City (0) 1 (Erasmus 52')

Golden Arrows (0) 1 (Mutizwa 87')

Cape Town City: Leeuwenburgh; Mkhize, Fielies, Dove, Seedat, Mobara (Makola 46'), Mokeke, Norodien (Abrahams 74'), Nodada (Lakay 84'), Ralani, Erasmus.

Golden Arrows: Sibanda, Parusnath, Sibisi, Mathiane, Lunga, Makhubela, Shitolo, Phiri, Sibiya (Venter 68'), Gumede (Mutizwa 78'), Lamola (Sibeko 58').