Leopards fight back to sink Arrows in Thohoyandou

Black Leopards came back to defeat Lamontville Golden Arrows 2-1 in an Absa Premiership match at the Thohoyandou Stadium on Saturday evening.

The victory took Lidoda Duvha to ninth place on the league standings, while Abafana Bes'thende remained fourth on the table.

Abafana Bes'thende saw most of the ball in the opening stages of the game with Lidoda Duvha sitting too deep.

However, the hosts' defence was exposed in the 16th minute, but Knox Mutizwa placed his effort wide of the target.

Jonas Mendes, the Leopards goalkeeper, was called into action six minutes later and Guinea-Bissau international denied Danny Phiri from a free-kick.

The visitors continued to push for the opening goal and they were awarded a penalty after Seth Parusnath fouled in the Leopards box.

Mutizwa then stepped up and beat Mendes from the spot-kick to make it 1-0 to Arrows six minutes before halftime.

The score was 1-0 to Arrows at the interval following a first-half which was slightly dominated by the visitors.

Lidoda Duvha pressed Abafana Be'thende after the restart, with Mwape Musonda working hard in attack for the home side.

The reigning Absa Premiership Golden Boot winner was brilliantly denied twice by Arrows keeper Edmore Sibanda in the first 15 minutes of the second-half.

Leopards' pressure did pay off in the 69th minute when Lesedi Kapinga beat Sibanda with a well-taken shot to make it 1-1 much to the delight of the home crowd.

Arrows were struggling to contain the hosts, who took the lead for the first time in the 71st minute when Themba Ndlovu scored against the run of play to make it 2-1 to Leopards.

The visitors then fought for a late equalising goal, but the hosts stood firm at the back and ultimately, Leopards ran out 2-1 winners over Arrows on the night.

Leopards (0) 2 (Kapinga 69', Ndlovu 71')

Arrows (1) 1 (Mutizwa 39' pen)

Leopards: Mendes, Matlaba, P. Zulu, Katjiukua, Gyimah, Mokoena, Andrianarimanana (Ng'ambi 46', Bereng 75'), Phala, Musonda, Mhlongo (Ndlovu 62'), Kapinga.

Arrows: Sibanda, S. Dube, Sibisi, Mathiane, Nkombelo, Makhubela (Sibisi 88'), Phiri, Shitolo (Venter 78'), Parusnath, Mtshali, Mutizwa.