Sundowns, Maritzburg battle for TKO glory

Mamelodi Sundowns and Maritzburg United will battle for the honour of being crowned 2019 Telkom Knockout champions when they meet at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban on Saturday, 14 December, kick-off at 6pm.

Sundowns have thus far overcome AmaZulu (5-0 at home), Chippa United (2-2 draw away, 4-3 winners on penalties) and Golden Arrows (2-1 away) en route to the TKO final.

The Brazilians are three-time champions in the Telkom Knockout, with their most recent triumph arriving in 2015. Last year they suffered a surprise defeat in the quarterfinals at the hands of eventual competition winners Baroka FC.

Maritzburg, meanwhile, will be appearing in their first TKO final. The Team of Choice’s path to this point has seen them beat both Bidvest Wits and Highlands Park on penalties (after 1-1 home draws against each team) before ousting ‘Cup Kings’ Kaizer Chiefs 2-1 in the semifinals, thanks to a brace from Judas Moseamedi.

Both teams come into the match in winning form. Sundowns were in action just this midweek, claiming a come-from-behind 3-1 win over Stellenbosch in a league clash on December 11, with goals from Themba Zwane, Sphelele Mkhulise and Keletso Makgalwa.

Maritzburg, meanwhile, will have the advantage of three extra days rest and preparation leading into the final. Their last outing brought a 1-0 away win at Polokwane City in a league clash on December 8, with Yusuf Jappie scoring the decisive goal for the KwaZulu-Natal outfit.

In head-to-head stats, Sundowns and Maritzburg have met in five previous cup meetings. The Team of Choice has claimed three outright wins compared to two for the Brazilians. The KwaZulu-Natal club was victorious when the teams last met in a knockout match, the semifinals of the 2018 Nedbank Cup, as they claimed a 3-1 triumph.

Overall, the teams have met in 32 league and cup matches since 2005/06 and ‘Downs have dominated the rivalry, claiming 20 wins compared to six for United. The Brazilians were on the winning side when the teams last met, in an Absa Premiership clash at Lucas Moripe Stadium back in September, with goals from Gaston Sirino and Lyle Lakay for the hosts, while the visitors struck through Siyanda Xulu.

Head-to-Head (since 2005/06)


Season Cup Result Scorers

2006/07 Absa Cup last 16 Sundowns 1-0 Maritzburg Apataki

2010/11 Telkom KO qfinal Maritzburg 2-0 Sundowns Bester (pen), McCarthy

2011/12 Nedbank Cup qfinal Sundowns 2-0 Maritzburg Mokoena, Mushekwi

2017/18 MTN8 qfinal Sundowns 0-1 Maritzburg Rusike

2017/18 Nedbank Cup sfinal Maritzburg 3-1 Sundowns Maboe, Kunene, Makaringe; Sirino


Season Result Scorers

2014/15 Maritzburg 1-2 Sundowns Lentjies; Laffor 2

2015/16 Sundowns 3-0 Maritzburg T. Zwane, Langerman, Moriri

2015/16 Maritzburg 2-3 Sundowns Rusike, Onyango; Kekana 2, Billiat

2016/17 Maritzburg 0-0 Sundowns

2016/17 Sundowns 2-2 Maritzburg Zakri 2; Onyango, Rusike

2017/18 Sundowns 1-0 Maritzburg Tau

2017/18 Maritzburg 2-2 Sundowns Fileccia, Maboe; T. Zwane, Langerman

2018/19 Sundowns 1-0 Maritzburg Kekana

2018/19 Maritzburg 1-2 Sundowns Makaringe; Tade, Maboe

2019/20 Sundowns 2-1 Maritzburg Sirino, Lakay; Zulu



Sundowns 5 2 0 3 4 6

Maritzburg 5 3 0 2 6 4

OVERALL RECORD (all competitions)


Sundowns 32 20 6 6 57 31

Maritzburg 32 6 6 20 31 57