Kermit fires City past 10-man Chippa

Cape Town City secured a 1-0 win over Chippa United in an Absa Premiership match at the Orlando Stadium on Friday afternoon.

The victory took the Citizens to the ninth spot in the league standings, while the Chilli Boys remained 12th on the log.

The Citizens got off to a bright start with with wingers Fagrie Lakay and Bradley Ralani playing crosses into the opposition's box for Kermit Erasmus.

Chippa goalkeeper Mlungisi Mazibuko, who was making his Absa Premiership debut, had to come out and gather Ralani's dangerous curling cross in the sixth minute.

However, Mazibuko was beaten 11 minutes later when Lakay's delightful cross was headed home by Erasmus to make it 1-0 City.

Lakay was causing havoc for the Chilli Boys defence with his pace down the right hand side and he forced Mazibuko into a fine low save just after the half-hour mark.

Chippa looked dangerous on the counter-attack with Ruzaigh Gamildien leading their attack, but they could not seriously test Peter Leeuwenburgh in the City goal-posts.

City managed to contain Chippa and the visitors were leading 1-0 at the interval thanks to Erasmus' 10th league goal of the season.

The Chilli Boys tried to impress the Citizens after the restart as they looked to restore parity.

They pushed forward in numbers with their new coach Lehlohonolo Seema having introduced Augustine Chidi Kwem and Kurt Lentjies.

The hosts were left vulnerable at the back and they were nearly punished by Tashreeq Morris, who was sent through on goal in the 76th minute.

However, the former Ajax Cape Town striker was brilliantly denied by Mazibuko from a one-on-one situation and Chippa survived a scare.

Chippa then suffered a blow when Kevin Moyo received his second yellow card of the match and the hosts were reduced to 10 players with nine minutes left.

City were able to hold on to their slender lead in the remaining minutes and ultimately, they emerged 1-0 winners over Chippa.

Chippa (0) 0

City (1) 1 (Erasmus 17')

Chippa: Mazibuko, Sekotlong, Damons, K. Moyo, Malepe, Maphangule, Thopola, Jodwana (Kwem 53'), Komane, Maphanga (Lebitso 87'), Gamildien (Lentjies 52').

City: Leeuwenburgh, Fielies, Mobara, Edmilson, Mkhize (Seedat 46'), Mdantsane (Ndondo 84'), Nodada, Roberts (Makola 65'), Lakay (Kewuti 85'), Erasmus (Morris 59'), Ralani.