Sundowns crush City to reach Nedbank Cup quarters

Defending Nedbank Cup champions Mamelodi Sundowns made easy work of Polokwane City in a 4-0 win at Loftus Versfeld Stadium on Wednesday afternoon.

Peter Shalulile, Lebohang Maboe, Lesedi Kapinga and Andile Jali found the back of the net in the opening half hour as the Brazilians avoided a potential banana skin, to book a quarterfinal showdown against top-flight rivals Orlando Pirates.

Sundowns opened their account with 10 minutes on the clock as Shalulile continued his scoring streak. Tebatso Phoku could only succeed in palming Haashim Domingo's initial effort into the Namibia international's path and he doesn't need a second invitation to find the back of the net.

Rise and Shine were then guilty of coughing up possession in a dangerous area and after drawing his man, Kermit Erasmus teed up Maboe who had the beating of the goalkeeper in the 14th minute.

Sundowns made it three a few seconds later as straight from the ensuing kick-off they won the ball back and raced up-field and after Phoku denied Shalulile, Kapinga pounced on the rebound and simply passed the ball into an empty net.

Polokwane finally conjured a chance of their own in the 20th minute but with the goal at his mercy, Khuda Myaba could only succeed in dragging his attempt wide of goal and having failed to take their chance to get back into the match, Sundowns made it four.

The Brazilians were awarded a penalty following a reckless challenge on Kapinga and Jali made no mistake from the spot.

Sundowns took their foot off the gas in the second-half with chances few and far between amid a more cautious approach from the visitors. Victory extended Sundowns' unbeaten run in all competitions to 23 matches.

Mamelodi Sundowns (4) 4 (Shalulile 10' Maboe 14' Kapinga 15' Jali 28')
Polokwane City (0) 0

Mamelodi Sundowns: Goss; Lakay (Modiba 46'), Nascimento (Maluleka 63'), De Reuck, Morena, Jali, Domingo, Maboe, Kapinga (Soumahoro 63'), Erasmus (Makgalwa 46'), Shalulile (Mkhuma 46').

Polokwane City: Phoku; Haoseb, Goss, Ngcobo (Nkomo 73'), Laqwela, Nyathi (Chembezi 31'), Phiri, Hlalele (Ngobe 46'), Nku (Shange 46'), Myaba (Mokiti 73'), Tlolane.